“One of the most remarkable spaces I've seen in New York City. ”
Guest, Nov 2011

A Tribute to “New York Eye and Ear Control”

« Back to Events
This event has passed.
June 1, 2014 3:00 pm


The summer jazz concert season kicks off to an early start with a rousing tribute to the celebrated recording ‘New York Eye and Ear Control’ as it hits its golden anniversary. This seminal album of the Free Jazz canon was conceived by Albert Ayler and realized with an all-star ensemble of improvisers who defined the movement. Some fifty years hence, a wide swath of New York Jazz underground instrumentalists fete it with four sets of contemporary fire music. The headliners are a one-time only assemblage dubbed here as The Veterans of Free, a combo of artists who were vital parts of the scene during Free Jazz’s development and still stand now as leading figures. And the opening attraction is celebrated downtown poet Steve Dalachinsky whose mix of spoken word and improv crosses the decades. The other artists performing represent the improvisational new music sounds of the past thirty+ years heard in Manhattan and Brooklyn performance spaces right into today.

Dissident Arts and the Firehouse Space present

A TRIBUTE TO “NEW YORK EYE AND EAR CONTROL” The 50th Anniversary of the Free Jazz Classic!

In summer, 1964, Albert Ayler gathered Don Cherry, John Tchicai, Roswell Rudd, Gary Peacock and Sunny Murray in a studio to record the legendary album ‘NEW YORK EYE AND EAR CONTROL’ (ESP-Disk), the free score to the film of the same name by Michael Snow, creating a hallmark of the New Thing in a revolutionary time. Fifty years hence it is celebrated by…

3pm – Steve Dalachinsky
Steve Dalachinsky: Poetry
Rocco John Iacovone: Alto Saxophone
Plus Guests..

3:30pm – The Ras Moshe Unit
Ras Moshe: Reeds, Flute, Bells
John Pietaro: Vibes, Percussion
Dave Ross: Electric Guitar
Andrew Drury: Drums, Percussion

4:30pm - Veterans of Free All Star Ensemble
Daniel Carter: Reeds, Trumpet
Karl Berge: Vibes, Piano
Warren Smith: Drumkit, Percussion
Will Connell: Saxophone, Flute, Bass Clarinet
Ingrid Sertso: Voice
Ken Filiano: Bass

5:30pm – Matt Lavelle’s 12 Houses Orchestra
Matt Lavelle: Trumpet, Alto Clarinet, Musical direction
Anais: Voice
Mary Cherney: Flute, Alto Flute
Claire de Brunner: Bassoon
Lee Odom: Clarinet, Soprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet
Charles Waters Alto Saxophone, Clarinet
Ras Moshe: Tenor & Soprano Saxophones, Flute
Tim Stocker: Baritone Saxophone
Gil Selinger: Cello
Chris Forbes: Piano
John Pietaro: Vibraphone, Percussion
Anders Nilsson: Guitar
Francois Grillot: Bass
Reggie Sylvester: Drums

This event will be comprised of three 50-minute set with each of the three bands performing a piece inspired by one of the three improvisations heard on the classic album. They will complete their sets with music which illustrates the legacy of the New Thing.

iCal Import + Google Calendar